597. Tiny Furniture

Newcomer at the time Lena Dunham essentially plays herself in her film TINY FURNITURE, a failure-at-coming-of-age story about the nebulous limbo between college and Real Life. The character she plays, Aura, has just returned home and should probably start making something of herself. Instead, she neglects her menial job, chases after douchebag boys, and tries her hardest to crawl back into the womb. The movie is filled with painful and funny vignettes, and it has a dry confessional style that comes off as honest, not contrived. But although I laughed, I tend to have a difficult time with unlikable protagonists. Here I found hardly anything relatable about Aura’s particular brand of entitled self-pity. So this might not be my genre, but I’m still looking forward to watching GIRLS, Dunham’s well-hyped HBO series, to see what else she has to say.

4 comments

  1. At first I thought GIRLS was just going to be more of the same, but around episode three it really changes and a vulnerability creeps in that makes it far more likable.

  2. I have to say that I laughed out loud at Tiny Furniture and also enjoyed GIRLS so much I watched it a total of 3 times when staying with friends in Sydney! Is that a bit over the top? I admit the plot is quite weak and there are aspects that just didn’t work, but overall for an independent movie it has done well and we should excuse its faults.

    1. Nah, there’s no such thing as over-the-top for a film you enjoy! To clarify what I wrote above, I think TINY FURNITURE is a solid, well-made film, with a unique voice and a great balance of comedy and poignancy. I just don’t think it’s the film for me—the protagonist ended up ruffling one too many of my feathers. But I’d still recommend it to others who are not me.

Leave a Reply

