542. Antichrist

Full disclaimer: I’m not a big fan of Lars von Trier. Of his films I’ve seen, it seems to be his goal to make me feel as miserable as possible. And the problem is, he’s usually successful. ANTICHRIST tells the story of a couple whose son falls out of a window while they’re making love. The husband, a dubious psychiatrist, suggests that they retreat into the woods to confront his wife’s grief and fears. Let’s just say things get dark from there. The filming is gorgeous with a lot of, well, memorable imagery, and Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg are mesmerizing. There are things in this movie that I never expected or needed to see filmed, but that’s okay. What bothered me wasn’t the shocking violence—it was the moment when the theme changed from grief to the evil of women. I wasn’t going to do an illustration for this, but hey! Let’s draw some cute animals!

7 comments

  1. I love the cuteness! I hope that seeing it makes von Trier feel as miserable as he’s made you (and countless others) feel. :o)

  2. I don’t think it’s mean spirited at all and I really want to tell you that I absolutely love this drawing. Though I think it’s easy to take from the film that theme of the evil of women, I think it’s just as sensible to argue that it is a very feminist film as well. Watching it and understanding the meaning he intended have been a very illuminating process for me. In some ways I’d also like to take the movie as the biggest F you to the outdated and seemingly useless (at least, to me) world of cognitive behavioral therapy. I’m sure it’s easy for you to guess which side of the fence I’m on. I can obviously see why people would be repulsed by it but I think it’s so much more important to encourage discussion and understanding than to just blindly dismiss it based on some blurb you read on Amazon… (I’m looking at you, Christopher Hart)

    1. Hi Chris. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment! I think part of the problem, for me, is that I hate battle-of-the-sexes as a general rule, and I find something innately anti-feminist about it. (Which is slightly hypocritical considering how much I love pre-1950 romantic comedies.) Plus, it bothered me how von Trier bills the cast as He and She, as though these characters are gender archetypes. I think the film would have bothered me less if it were just one isolated, insane, destructive couple and not some commentary on gender as a whole. But I did enjoy the jab at bogus psychology, and I’m always happy to hear a differing opinion.

Leave a Reply

