100. Beastie Boys Video Anthology

16Oct10

Can I just start by saying how glad I am that this is in the collection? I’ve been a music video fanatic since my youth, growing up on MTV and VH1 back when they still played them. So I was thrilled to sit down and watch some Beastie Boys classics. The videos themselves are almost an exercise in bad taste: stock footage, the tackiest of camera effects, and more fisheye lens than I’ve ever seen in one place. Fortunately, for the most part it works, and the rappers themselves are charismatic enough to carry any scene. Then, of course, there are the standouts. I was already quite familiar with “Sabotage,” Spike Jonze’s perfect 70s cop show tribute, as well as the robot vs. octopus battle on “Intergalactic.” Some new favorites are the simple, explanation-free “Three MCs and One DJ,” and the deranged epic “Body Movin’.” But where is “Fight For Your Right?” Where’s “No Sleep Till Brooklyn?” And when will Criterion start putting out more music videos?

8 Responses to “100. Beastie Boys Video Anthology”

  1. If I remember correctly, the Beastie Boys asked criterion to put this out specifically, so I don’t think we’ll be seeing too many music videos in the collection. Maybe as bonus features.

  2. 3 Bartnj

    The last two videos you mentioned we’re most likely left off because the beastie boys switched labels after “License To Ill”. Also they’ve had a history of ignoring that album as mysogynistic and because as he says “I see that Def Jam don’t recognize me. I’m Mike D the one who put the satin in your panties”.

    • I have to say, I do admire them for criticizing what they’ve said in the past. But I can’t help loving those cheesy 80s videos! I imagine you’re right about the label having something to do with it, too. Thanks for the info.

      • 5 Bartnj

        “Imma say a little sumthin thats all imma do.
        All this disrespectin women we’ve got to be through.
        To all the mothers and the sisters and the wives and friends
        I wanna offer my love and respect to the end” – MCA “Sure Shot”

        Without a second thought they are in my top three bands of all time.

  3. 8 Latesha

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with helpful info to work on. You have performed a formidable task and our whole community will be grateful to you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

